Balancing the Holidays and Your Education

4034computer_santa512
lol, look at that floppy disc!!

You’ve taken this vow of completing your Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Ph.D. online because you have X, Y, Z reasons that you’d rather go online than to a brick and mortar.

I get it. I’ve been there. I don’t even have kids, and I get it.

What happens when it’s the holidays, kids are home, family is around, shopping is not done, you STILL NEED TO CLEAN THAT LITTLE CORNER BEHIND THE CANDY DISH BECAUSE GOD FORBID ANY OF YOUR GUESTS LOOK AT THAT LITTLE FLECK OF DUST…

oh… AND school? Wait, what?

Brick and mortar schools are off on vacation before you can sound out the D in December and then leisurely pick the pace back up sometime in the middle of January. You don’t have to think twice about any sort of obligations during that entire month! NBD…

But you chose an online education because it would be beneficial to your lifestyle! Sometimes online education never truly stops until your mind stops because there’s always something you could be doing or you want to get everything done beforehand because some genius decided to make this term overlap over Christmas and nobody got time for that.

I went to Western Governors University. This school run by six-month-terms. You can complete as much or as little of your degree within those six months. That meant I got as MUCH as I could get done prior to driving all the way up to MI from SC for Christmas and didn’t look at a single thing while I was there. HUGE reason why I loved attending that school. If life was happening, my school didn’t need to be my number 1 priority.

Did I mention I finished all of my coursework for my degree in 15 months? Yep.

How do you complete your course work before and during the holidays?
Have you had to shorten your vacation because of school obligations?
Do you change your study schedule to fit the needs your many gatherings?
How understanding is your family of your obligations?
What comes first, family or school during this time of year?

Leave a comment